• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

Bridgeport Mill Clone - Installing Powerfeeds on 3 Axes and also DRO's

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Scott(GA)

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
18
Likes
4
#1
I have a JET Variable Speed Milling Machine (JTM-4VS-1). I would like to install Powerfeeds on all axes as well as DRO's.

Research of installation manuals seems to indicate potential conflict with the Y-Axis DRO & Powerfeed Limit Switch mechanism.

I have a One-Shot Oiler on the left side of the machine (Operator's viewpoint) that would seem to eliminate either of the above devices on that side but...

Can anyone with DRO's and Powerfeeds provide pictures of how their machine is set up?

Thanks!

Scott
 

mksj

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
1,732
Likes
2,077
#2
I would install it under the DRO scale, probably use the same bracket to mount the switch. Also you do not need to use their clunky stop channels for the end stops. I used some 8020 aluminum extrusion, see below. It is also possible to mount the stop rail on the oiler side and suspend it far enough out so it does not interfere with the oil line.
20161128_081435.jpg Y and Z axis.jpg
Y and Z axis 2.jpg
 

kd4gij

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
4,471
Likes
1,667
#3
We have one at work. The limit switch is mounted where mksj's dro scale is and the dro scale is below that.
 

Scott(GA)

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
18
Likes
4
#4
I would install it under the DRO scale, probably use the same bracket to mount the switch. Also you do not need to use their clunky stop channels for the end stops. I used some 8020 aluminum extrusion, see below. It is also possible to mount the stop rail on the oiler side and suspend it far enough out so it does not interfere with the oil line.

View attachment 266536
Is the Y-Axis Powerfeed Limit Switch Assembly in this picture?

I see what I believe is the DRO encoder - or at least the encoder's shield - but I'm not seeing the Powerfeed Limit Switch Assembly.

Best regards,

Scott
 

kd4gij

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2011
Messages
4,471
Likes
1,667
#5
He doesn't have a y power feed on that. I will try to remember to snap a pic of the one at work tomorrow.
The video does show a limit switch and dro scale on the y axes.
 
Last edited:

jdedmon91

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
84
Likes
343
#6
I only have the x axis on my mill. I’d suggest instead of installing a feed unit use one the knee lifts with a cordless drill. I actually made mine up attached is the videos




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top