Bridgport Mill 1946

Rc Sask

Registered
Registered
Hi there,
New to the site and new to milling. I've been wanting a mill to do some hobby things with mostly aluminum work. I have zero knowledge in milling but can learn fast and have a decent amount of time to invest in learning. I found a 1946 BP round ram milling machine. It's restored with 220 motor 6 inch vise some collet and some other tools. Any advice as to what to look for and price?
Thanks

I have a round ram Bridgeport but the head is a J head a little newer.

Hi there,
New to the site and new to milling. I've been wanting a mill to do some hobby things with mostly aluminum work. I have zero knowledge in milling but can learn fast and have a decent amount of time to invest in learning. I found a 1946 BP round ram milling machine. It's restored with 220 motor 6 inch vise some collet and some other tools. Any advice as to what to look for and price?
Thanks
Welcome to the forum!
Bring someone with you who knows how to look at a mill to see if everything works and how much wear the machine has, if you do not know how to do that yourself. Price depends on condition, tooling that comes with it, and whether the area where you live is a machinery desert or oasis... Don't be in too big of a hurry to buy something, there are always more around and you learn as you shop...

Thanks for the advice guys. I'm gonna take a look at it maybe this afternoon. Mills are hard to come by were I live.

I just bought a mill out of vancouver, used. there was a real bridgeport for sale out of fargo recently for cheap. you will find one, no worry. the round ram bridgeports are very picky to get in square in all 3 dimensions. Therefore they go for less money than the dovetail ram type. photo the heck out of it and let us see!

Pricing in Canada is sometimes way out of wack due to far fewer machines. I was patient and got a First 9X49 for 1/4 the cost of new one, in like new shape.