Building a stand for the Smithy

TejasNW

Registered
Registered
Seeking opinions on setting up a bench/stand/support for the Smithy. What is the best height for the support structure under one of these 3n1's? I am average height at 5'9" (or 175cm.)

What does your bench/table/stand measure? Is there a general rule where the chuck should be in relation to ones waist or elbow for good ergonomics? Since the head is able to rotate, I am not too concerned about it being too low; but so many people have commented on hitting their head, I may be missing something on this. I would think the center of the chuck at elbow height would be a good place. Not to high you have good access, without too much stooping to see the contact area.

I am a complete newbie to machining and would appreciate thoughts and experiences on a good working height. I will be welding a stand, so can custom build it, but would rather not do a lot of trial and error to get there. Thougts? Comments?

I don't have a Smitty, but the spindle centerline about elbow height is a good starting reference point. You can make that height the center of your adjustment range on the leveling feet and if you mount the machine on riser blocks you can always add or take them away if needed.
As far as the width and length of the stand, that kind of depends on where it will be placed, a little extra room around the machine is nice if you have the space.
0Ahowtall.gif