Building my own tripod head

Badabinski

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Recently, I've been getting back into photography. It's been a passion of mine since I was in high school, but I gave up on it because I had to figure out that whole "Adult" thing. I started shooting some photos this spring with an Olympus mirrorless camera and I got hooked all over again. A few months ago I picked up a Sony A7iii with some cheapish Sony lenses (50mm f2.8 macro, 50mm f1.8). Then I made the horrible mistake of renting a very nice (and very expensive) Sony 35mm f/1.4 GM lens. One thing lead to another and I now own a Sigma 35mm f/1.2 and a SIgma 85mm f/1.4. They are fantastic lenses, but they're also very expensive.

Then, I found out that I owed Uncle Sam a lot of cashola on the same day my two shiny new lenses came in. Oops. My fun budget is now gone for several months.

However, I still need a tripod with a good head. I've owned some junky Sunpaks and I'm sick of them. I want to make my own tripod, starting with the head. I know it won't be as light as some of the fancy composite stuff that's out today, but the point of having a machine shop is so that you can make massively overbuilt shiny things.

So, here's what I'm thinking:
  • The head will use an Arca-Swiss style mounting system
    • This doesn't seem like the most convenient mounting system, but the plates are plentiful and it's compatible with a bunch of fun gadgets. Plus, it seems really secure!
  • The head will be a pan head
    • I won't be making a ball head. I don't have a ball turner, and I doubt I could hit the tolerances needed. Pan heads are slower, but I've used them and I think they're fine as long as they tighten quickly and firmly (I hate "squishy" pan heads)
  • The head will prioritize stability and durability over weight