Built a mill for less than $50 in just a few hours

SE18

Active User
Registered
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2Qqb5Au_tI

The brown paper bag material kept the end mill from slipping. One of the set screws that holds the steel button in the crossslide was a PITA to reach. I may need to make a longer allen wrench.

This is a temporary mill btw until I can make or buy a better one. But it seems to be working.

The video, which I made a few minutes ago, is actually the first time I tried out the mill

Looks pretty good. One suggestion, bring the endmill in closer to the chuck to reduce deflection. It will make a difference when cutting metal.

Thanks for the tip, Jeff. I've never done this before so it was pretty cool.

Before cutting steel to replace the wood parts you see, I thought I'd just make a mockup with wood to see how the dimensions play out (clearance etc). But now I'm thinking to leave the wood there until I find a reason to switch it out.

One concern I had is with the 4" drill press vise. Machinist vises seem to be pretty pricey, but if I find the drill press vise isn't up to task, then I'll exchange that out. But I'll take a wait and see approach.

You got the general idea at this stage using wood, and it is looking reeeallly good. John

Just asking... But why not just mount the vise to the angle block? Wouldn't that be more rigid? Or is it a clearance / position issue?

the vice's slots were wider than the angle's and I didn't know if I wanted to keep this arrangement

Thnks for the video.I like it. I am betting the pine will have to much give for steel. Might be able to make small passes in aluminum.

you're right. It worked with wood and alum but not steel.

Also, the machine button that fits into the crossslide hole (dovetail circle, 60 degrees, held by 2 set screws and angled pins), isn't enough to hold steel and keep it from turning. I may need to make some "ears" to go around and grab the carriage.