Buttress Thread Cutting Tool, Would Like To Borrow...

Richard White (richardsrelics)

Registered
Registered
I am curious if anyone has a thread cutting tool for the Buttress thread? I have a project forthcoming that will need that particular thread and spending $500 for a 10 pack of inserts is a bit out of my league. If someone has an extra insert and would be willing to part with it I would gladly be willing to buy just one.

Thanks

Richard,

I deal with hundred's of different Buttress thread forms in my design work I do for a living. Is this a standard ANSI Buttress thread form as shown in the Machinery's Hand book? If so, what is the thread pitch? Are you cutting external or internal? What kind of tool holding do you want threading tools to fit? I do have a few inserts on hand, but I need to know this information to see if any of them will match up.

Ken

External and pitch is 14 tpi. And as for which one, I would have to get my book out to look at which one is closest to matching up..As for tool holding, I have at this point the original tool post holder for my Logan 820. I will have to sell a boat motor(s) to get the dough to get a good tool post holder..

Can you provide the flank angles and root width of the thread profile? And which direction it will be cut from. Ie- load bearing flank direction vs non-load bearing flank? Probably have to grind something, which I could do.