CAD programs

hq308

Active User
Registered
I've noticed a few of the members here are into CAD drawing and thought it might be good to start a thread about it.

Like a lot of hobby machinists I had zero experience with CAD until recently when I decided to start looking into it. Being that it was only for hobby use I began my search for a good free 2d program about 3 months ago.

I started out trying a product called "Draft Sight" which is from the same company as Solidworks. It's a reasonable product for a complete novice to learn on but IMHO it has it's limitations. Early on I stumbled accross a bug where a feature I really needed didn't work so I went in search of something else that would do what I wanted. I then came across "Solid Edge 2D" which seems to have a much steeper learning curve but is (IMHO) a much more professional package than Draft Sight.

If you're looking for a good free 2d CAD program I highly recommend Solid Edge 2D.

What are other people here using?

Last edited:
I know a lot of guys that use Alibre.

I am quite lucky in that i have access to Solidworks, still learning a lot and not using it often enough to retain anything...
Fun to play around with though!

Andrew

I have a degree in "Engineering Computing Graphics", which is a fancy way of saying CAD operator. I've been doing it (mostly as a contractor) for nearly 30 years now. I've learned dozens of systems, many of which don't even exist anymore. I know 2D and 3D systems, with most of my experience coming from Inventor (AutoCAD) and SolidWorks.

Draft Sight is the program that came out of the lawsuit between A-cad and Solidworks. They used to have an A-cad "emulator" that was