Cam Replacement on Camlock Spindle

JollyRoger

Registered
Registered
Hey guys,

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Hannes, I am 29 years old, I come from Austria and I design industrial glass melting furnaces for a living. I am a hobby machinist and, because I got a new shop, I've also bought a new machine
92128085_3241477189209719_8455758885960024064_n.jpg
92577808_3241477279209710_7995738979133554688_n.jpg
It's a used Colchester Triumph 2000 and I'm really looking forward to make chips with it. I have to do some smaller repairs on it and I was able to get most of the parts for a reasonable price or rebuild them myself. But I am facing a big problem now. The former owner has overtightened the cams for the camlock chuck mount, all six of them have cracks in the corners of the square drive and I need to replace them. I've marked the parts on the picture below
Cams.JPG

To my knowledge, these parts should be standardized according to ISO 702-2, but I am not shure if Colchester maintained this standard. Does somebody know if it's possible to simply buy these cams as spares from a different machine? Just like these ones:

I guess, you pay 10 times more if you buy those parts from Colchester and I really would like to avoid that.

Thank you in advance for you advice!

Hello Hannes, welcome to the madness, Nice lathe.
Previous owner must have used some real force to damage the cams! I do not know if these people can help but they sell camlock studs and deal with all sorts of machinery : https://www.toolmex.com/ Might be worth looking over their site and sending them an E-mail inquiry.

I see your across the pond. Kalamazoo out of Michigan sells Clausing/Colchester parts. If you can’t find on your side might want to give them a call. I wouldn’t think they would be to hard to duplicate. The square drive would be the toughest part imo.

So, I've got lucky and found a solution for my problem. Mr. Dale Webber of XYZ Machine Tools recommeded this product