Carbide Insert designation

B

Brento

Forum Guest
Register Today
Hello I am a new young machinist starting out in my garage. I’m slowly building up my shopping cart for things I need/will need/want ti start out with. So for my lathe I am getting the Grizzly G0765 and I’m leaning toward insert tools. I know they are expensive when starting out but are great deal for the money put into them. However I am not sure which inserts are best for which application. I will most likely be working with aluminum and mild steels with the occasional hardened steel brass and copper. If anyone could help me that would be great!!

I do agree and im going to learn how to make and cut with them as well. I just wanna learn which insert is best for which case

Brento, if you choose to go with inserts then you will need positive rake tooling. One of the most popular tool holders are the SCLCR (right hand) and SCLCL (LH) tool holders that take CCMT and CCGT inserts. Your lathe will probably use a 3/8" bar. Check Precision Matthews - they have a set with inserts suitable for most steels and aluminum, priced very nicely: http://www.precisionmatthews.com/shop/38-turning-38-boring-tool-set/

With that said, I agree with Karl that HSS will be better on your small lathe but carbide will get you cutting fast.

Ok thank you i do have a project in mind to make a dovetail tool. I think a set of holders i was looking at on amazon had the common style holders. Is there any special or recommended cutting angles for finishes and roughing or should i not worry about that right now.

Also to pick anyones brain what is special about like a wnmg compared to the ccmt?

SCLCX tools have a 5 degree positive lead angle and the tool is oriented with the shank perpendicular to the work. This allows you to turn and face without moving the tool. Typically, the tool remains fixed like this for both roughing and finishing cuts.