CF 7x10 vibration

Vanillag66

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, new here. I have a cheapo CF 7x10 lathe someone gave me. I replaced the drive belt because that was the only issue it supposedly had. I've used it a couple times here and there briefly. I was going to face something the other day and had a ton of vibration. If I engage the carriage feed the vibration stops. I've been machining for 14 years but I have very little maintenance/mechanical experience working on machines... any ideas or help is greatly appreciated

Forgot to add the vibration happens regardless if you're actually cutting or not but stops immediately when feed is engaged

i would be suspect of the spindle bearings
the import 7x's use radial bearings instead of tapered roller bearings, to reduce cost

i can't explain why the vibration stops when the feed is engaged

you could mount a substantial rod in the spindle and perform a deflection test
mount a dial indicator to indicate the chuck or spindle, and measure the deflection when you lift or depress the rod mounted in the chuck
you should have less than .002" of deflection of the spindle, if you have .002" or more, time for bearings :oops:

I was thinking that but was confused that the vibration stopped when I had it in feed. Weird stuff.. this is my first rodeo with these little cheap lathes. I know the original owner only turned a couple things (literally) He wanted to learn how to be a machinist and bought that lathe from HF. Not saying the bearings aren't bad but with very minimal use I wouldnt see that being the likely issue. I'm offshore right now and won't be back home for another 9 days but I'll definitely check deflection.

give a check of the drive gears too

i owned a Harbor Freight 7x10 for a minute.
it had a change gear that was drilled off center and made some funny noises when the carriage feed was used

Welcome to the forum!