Change gears? ELS? Help!

jarrettbailey

Registered
Registered
Hello all

I just bought a Lux Cut 12x30 lathe (made in Taiwan in the early 80's I believe). It's a nice heavy machine (2000 lb). Has a foot brake and a 5hp motor. Ways looks great and everything seems good and tight, but it didn't come with change gears for metric threading. I've been trying to find them or get them made, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be better to go with the Electronic Lead Screw I've read about here and a few other places. I'm not really a programmer or electronics master, but I can do either enough to get by as long as it's not SUPER complex. I'd really appreciate the opinions and sources (either for gears or ELS). I'm just setting up my little machining corner in my shop and I'm excited to get it going.

Thanks!

61016.jpeg

RJSakowski

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Whether or not to go with an ELS depends upon your situation. I installed an ELS on my Grizzly G0602 and am generally pleased with the performance. My particular reason for going that route were primarily that every change of lead screw feed required swapping gears. The ELS accomplishes that with the push of a few buttons. The only negative so far is that the available torque is somewhat anemic with the stepper motor I have chosen. My cost was a little over $200 for the modification although I used several components that I had on hand.

The 602 uses a single screw for both feed and threading and the ELS that I chose was developed for that lathe. Your lathe is significantly larger and, will require a larger stepper or servo motor to better match the capabilities of your lathe. The gear belt drive would have to be beefed up as well. On that basis, your cost would probably be running in the $500 range.