Changing Gears On 7x14 (g0765) Lathe [solved!]

MagicSmoker

Registered
Registered
My 2nd post after lurking and reading lots of books, watching lots of youtube videos, and sifting through threads here and elsewhere the last couple of months. I have very little practical experiencing with machining, but I'd like to think that all the reading and video watching I've done has made me "book smart" about it (that said, my day job is an electronics engineer, so I know all too well that reading about something is not a substitute for doing it).

I've done some facing, turning and center drilling so far and am learning some valuable lessons in the process. For example, I don't think I am ever going to get proficient at grinding tool bits, so I ordered a set of indexable tools from Amazon. Also, I can now see why quick change tool posts are such a popular accessory...

But the one thing that has me really stumped is how to remove the various gears to change the threading pitch without using what I feel to be excessive force (the manual just says you might need to use a screwdriver to pry the gears off if they are stubborn...). More specifically, I can't figure out how to remove the metal "A" and "C" gears from their keyed bushings. Changing the "C" gear is less of an issue because I can just buy another keyed shaft ("bushing" in the parts list) and install a 60t plastic gear on it - which is the only other choice I figure I'll need - but not all of the parts are available to make up extra "A" gear assemblies so I have no choice but to figure out how to get that durned gear off the keyed shaft. Any tips from fellow 7x14 lathe owners (my understanding is they all use the same change gear setup)?

IMG_1362.jpg