• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

Charter Oaks Benchtop Mill

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

thequietman

Hi all.

I'm fairly new to machining. I've been doing a fair amount of woodworking and some metalworking, but only recently started getting into machining. I am currently looking to get a small mill, something that's fairly basic, but something that would be able to handle a bit more than a mini-mill and can serve as a solid base for future upgrades.

I was looking into Grizzly G0704 until I cam across Charter Oaks manual benchtop mill. With the discount listed on their site, it's only few hundred more than a Grizzly, but does look like a much better machine. Can you give me some feedback on the mill and the company? Are the machines solid and is the company reliable?

Thank you much.

wrmiller

Chief Tinkerer
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
I bought a CO about a year and a half ago, and things went very well for the most part. Customer service was great too. But, I know a couple of people who have had more recent experiences and theirs didn't go so well. There have also been personnel changes as well. I won't go into details here.

I don't know your dollar or size limits, but many, many people here (including me and my 3 machines) have had excellent experiences with Matt at Precision Machine (http://www.machinetoolonline.com/index.html). His web site doesn't begin to show everything he carries, so I suggest a call or two (tell him Bill sent ya) to discuss your needs and wants and Matt will help with recommendations.

Just a suggestion.

brav65

Active User
+1 on Matt. He is a stand up guy who sells quality machines at a fair price. He also provides great customer service.

S

steve323

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!