Cheap DRO in the US

sundown57

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 10, 2021
Messages
41
I have a kind of odd ball lathe, its 13x40, most all kits are 250x1000mm.Not sure if the extra 2 inches will be a problem or not. Anyone know of a company in the us that isn't all that expensive and where i can call then and ask for a mix and match set ?
 

Nutfarmer

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
704
DRO Pros have a lot of good information on their web site. Every thing from sizing the scales to installation. Their prices are higher than the Chinese on ebay, but their information is out there for anyone to use. There is also a ton of information here that would be useful , just use the search function. Good luck. Several members have had success with the inexpensive Chinese imports .
 
Last edited:

jwmelvin

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
816
I’d probably message your AliExpress/eBay seller of choice and see if they can do a longer scale.

Sorry - I know you said US but thought that may have been optional. I’m not sure why I thought that.
 

Dabbler

Administrator
Staff member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
2,140
@sundown57 Of course it depends on the exact nature of the work you do, bit I've had a 12X37, 14X40 and 15X60 lathes for years now, and I have never needed the last 4 " of the lathe bed. I've even chanbered rifles with 26" barrels on the 12X37, and as long as your carriage stays to the left of your tailstock, you are fine. really.
 

sundown57

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 10, 2021
Messages
41
i think in the 40 inch direction i would be ok my concern is my lathe call for a 200mm cross slide they are maybe 9.5 total. a 250 is cold to 12. im not sure it will fit on the cross slide with out making some sort of extension
 

epanzella

Active User
Registered
Joined
Apr 8, 2013
Messages
1,534
AMAZON. 'bout $300 for 3 axis. . I have one. Works perfectly.
 

sundown57

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 10, 2021
Messages
41
i just came across these 2 . wonder how bad they really are


 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock