Chinese digital mic - a quick review

I had similar experience, until I didn't ..... Had a Fowler electronic digital mic, worked great till it did not, no abuse, no drops, no support from company, a disposable tool. It was my favorite mic for the 18 months it worked. I have now gone back to analog digital mics where the digits read thousandths and you use the vernier for the tenths, still Chinese but way cheaper and they last. Hope yours lasts a long time.

I wouldnt mind picking up a analog digital mic at some point would make some jobs a little easier.

If I was working as a full time machinist I would probably get digital mics. But I am retired and a hobby machinist, so I use the good old mechanical versions with verniers and dials. They are a bit slower, and get harder to read with age, but still do the job just as well. Also, no batteries...

I wouldnt mind picking up a analog digital mic at some point would make some jobs a little easier.
I broke down and bought a Chinese one after I saw one of these in a video. Digital plus analog, sign me up!

It fueled my appetite for a better one. I'm new to micrometers, and have never handled a good one, so I don't know how much better it might feel, but I think a good one would just have to feel better. It's hard to hit a consistent reading measuring the same thing repeatedly with this thing. Is this fully cranked down, or isn't it? It feels like it wants to stop short of being cranked hard enough to shatter the carbide anvils, but where, exactly? I try to check the calibration with a 1-2-3 block, and it hits 0.000" and 1.000" very consistently, as long as I crank it hard enough, but not too hard. I'm definitely leading the witness, and I don't feel like it's a very reliable device. Not in my hands, especially.

Even so, the little odometer on the thing makes me happy. Plus all my machine work is terrible anyway.