• We want to encourage those of you who ENJOY our site and find it USEFUL to DONATE and UPGRADE your membership from active member to donating or premium membership. If you want to know the differences in membership benefits, please visit THIS PAGE:

    https://www.hobby-machinist.com/premium/

    Donating memberships start at just $10 per year. These memberships are in fact donations that help pay our costs, and keep our site running!
    Thank you for your donation, God Bless You
  • June Project of the Month (Click "x" at right to dismiss)
[4]

Chinese JCS900-3AE DRO - Good Manual found !!!

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Rata222

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Messages
34
Likes
24
#1
I purchased a model JC900-3AE DRO for my mill. The manual is awful. The screens and buttons shown do not correspond with the unit. I could not get into some of the functions and the vendor could not help. New to DRO’s I was frustrated – I searched all the manuals for different DRO’s that I could find to help me understand. I found the manual below and it well written and follows this DRO closely,
The attached manual was a BIG help and I wanted to take the opportunity to payback and maybe help someone else have a better experience.
It was found at http://www.exoror.com/datasheet/D60.pdf (In case the attachment doesn't load correctly.)

This manual also shows access to additional functions not listed (or I missed) in the supplied manual such as -Tool offsets for the mill, Tool Libs for the lathe, pocketing……
One thing I did find in the original manual -in case you missed it as I did at first- is access to a second set of setup parameters by hitting the in/mm button six times during boot up
The only function I cannot seem to get to work is the Ref Datum Memory Recall Function to rehome the table if it gets moved during a power loss. I cannot get the unit to “flash” and find the reference marks of the scales as described. If anyone conquered this –please pass it along.

Hope this helps anyone who purchases one of these DROs!
Jim
 

Attachments

Ed ke6bnl

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
470
Likes
187
#2
That looks exactly like the dro readout I have. I am still lost on many of the functions. One that I wanted to do is let say set the quill over a area and put a number or my choice as the x or y or both. Have not been able to do that. or use the calculator to do some calculation and use that number in the x or y read out. But love it and the price
 

Rata222

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Messages
34
Likes
24
#3
I am still lost on many of the functions. One that I wanted to do is let say set the quill over a area and put a number or my choice as the x or y or both. Have not been able to do that.
To do that.... Press the X Y or Z button (not the Xo,Yo,Zo) type in the number and press enter. You may want to do this in Incremental Mode. Then you will still maintain your original origin if you toggle back Absolute Mode.
I saw a YouTube video - for a different DRO-where the calculator value was transferred to the axis - but I have not figured it out for this model.
 

Ed ke6bnl

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
470
Likes
187
#4
thanks for your help, will give it a try tomorrow
 

Ed ke6bnl

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
470
Likes
187
#5
To do that.... Press the X Y or Z button (not the Xo,Yo,Zo) type in the number and press enter. You may want to do this in Incremental Mode. Then you will still maintain your original origin if you toggle back Absolute Mode.
I saw a YouTube video - for a different DRO-where the calculator value was transferred to the axis - but I have not figured it out for this model.
Well that worked just fine, thanks for the help. I also tried differant ways to get the number from the calculator into the X position. Oh well at least the feature you told me about is useful at times.
 

SamI

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
30
Likes
25
#6
One thing I found is that when the toolroom is open (i.e. you can select different tools with pre-set offsets) you can only modify the values when tool number 1 is selected. It took me ages to work that out! Before I was having to close the toolroom, modify the value then open it again which was a bit of a pain. The real benefit here is that I can zero the Y axis when performing a facing cut in the lathe, turn up to a shoulder then switch to the boring bar and bore out to the correct depth from the face with ease.
 

ttabbal

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
485
Likes
516
#7
Enough of us have been buying these that we might be able to figure out our own manual. I just got mine installed on a Bridgeport and have been trying to figure out how to use the more advanced features, more than measure and zero. I could use the calculator, but couldn't quite get the result to copy into an axis.
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top