Choosing the right die

phantomshtter

Registered
Registered
Hello, I'm a novice machist with zero experience threading materials. I have a project here building some 1/20 scale dual rate coilovers and I want to thread the aluminum shock body for a functional ride height adjuster ring. The tubing is 4mm OD x 3mm ID so the threads must be very shallow cut. Is this even gonna be possible? I'm totally clueless as to choosing a die for the job. A link to a die that will work would be wonderful if even possible. Thanks and happy holidays!

DSC03964.JPG

A few questions..... Do you know what Thread Dia and Pitch you are looking to cut? Are the treads on the outside of the shock housing for the Treaded Collar and Spring Height Adjustment?

A few questions..... Do you know what Thread Dia and Pitch you are looking to cut? Are the treads on the outside of the shock housing for the Treaded Collar and Spring Height Adjustment?

Oh jeez, my bad, I'd want to cut male threads onto the aluminum, not female. So the diameter would be 4mm. I can use a simple piece of styrene plastic tubing that will thread itself over the male threads. As far as pitch I guess .5mm would be good.

A standard thread is 4-0.7mm, very common. If the material is that large it would probably be the best idea.

A metric 4mm fine thread with a 0.5mm pitch has a Minor Diameter of 3.387, which would leave a 0.19mm wall or about 0.007", which is getting pretty thin. https://www.newmantools.com/tech/threadmf.htm

The 4mm x 0.7mm pitch has a minor diameter of 3.141mm, which would leave an even thinner wall.
https://www.newmantools.com/tech/threadm.htm

Since you mentioned letting the Styrene "self thread", there's no reason you need to cut the threads to full depth (if you were to cut the threads on a lathe verses using a Thread Die.) If the ID could be smaller than 3mm? Say, 2.5mm, you would have more wall thickness and using a 4mm x 0.5 Die would probably be fine.