Chuck choice

D

Douglasr

Forum Guest
Register Today
If you could only have one, would you choose a 3" self centering or a 4" independent jaw chuck? I am just starting out and the lathe I bought has no tooling. Thanks for the advise

4 jaw, don't even think about anything else if you only have one choice.

And you will learn so much with a 4jaw you'll never learn with a 3jaw.

as a greenhorn in the lathe business, I would suggest the opposite. to me, a 4 jaw would discourage the hell out of me.
" how do I get stuff to be straight in the chuck, how do I get it to not wobble, etc etc."

the o/p should be able to make even useless chips in about 1/2 hour of learning how to sharpen a tool blank to firstly get the hang of the machine, a three jaw would serve him well.

I would like to see what he has to work with and what he would like to do with what he has.

but then, that's just my humble opinion. I have a couple different size 3 jaws and a fairly large 4 jaw and I rarely use it as I never take anything out of the chuck before its finished or I am making things that the .002=.003 error would not affect. . .

let see what others have to say and see what this gentleman has to work with. . . . .

davidh (the old guy)

Last edited: