[4]

Chuck ID

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

pontiac428

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
That 3-jaw is a pretty light chuck, like what you see on jeweler's lathes or Sherlines. I have no experience with that type.

The 4-jaw looks like a Cushman, South Bend, or Atlas (branded) chuck, a real workhorse. There is very little that can go wrong with these that can't be repaired. Even "bellmouthing" can be accounted for by grinding the jaws. I'd say it's a keeper barring any major flaws.

The face plate is good to go, but you'll probably want a smaller one for turning between centers with dogs. That one is for bolting/clamping/fixing the work to the face plate and working it that way. Great for boring irregular pieces. Eventually, you'll be glad you have it.

I hope that helps get you started with your assessment!

jaxxon

Registered
Thanks for the info. I'm mostly interesed in what 3 jaw I should look for. I'm not a fan of this one. I will have more tools etc to ask about identicication soon :)

pontiac428

What chuck to buy is a long conversation around here. My opinion is to buy a nice, used set-tru type of chuck. I have a Shars 6" that does the job and works well, but these days I prefer to use my Pratt Burnerd because a $1200 chuck from the 1980's is just as sweet today, and cost me the same $400 that the Shars would with a back plate included. So that covers my recommendations, buy a good Asian chuck new or get a high quality name brand chuck used. Both will serve you well and both will last a lifetime. Just don't buy total China trash on eBay to save a buck and still expect good results.

Nogoingback

While your 3 jaw may be smaller than the maximum size your lathe can accommodate, that doesn't mean it can't
be useful. If it's in good shape, there's no reason not to use it for tasks appropriate for it's size. For larger work,