Chuck options

cdhknives

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am tired of my wobbly chuck and might have some budget to change it. I really don't think a high $$$ chuck is appropriate for our light duty Atlas lathes but I would like something better than my oft crashed Union 6" 3 jaw. My look has focused on the Shars options. If it truly holds 3 thou or less runout it is a good improvement over mine.

http://www.shars.com/products/workholding/lathe-chucks?mounting=1-1/2+-+8

Are these a reasonable compromise between cost and quality for a 10" Atlas? I would prefer a single body, not a plain back, due to weight and length, but these are priced right and the back plate is included.

Although I have no personal experience with Shars, they do have a pretty good reputation. I would personally go for the one with the 2-piece jaws, as I have one by Pratt-Burnerd that is similar (but today about triple the cost). Especially as the Shars one is on sale for a little less that the one with solid jaws.

If your Union is "oft crashed" the Shars will be "oft crashed" as well.

:rolleyes: Tongue in cheek. I hit it once several years ago (with the tool in the lantern post) under power which stalled it (from low speed, maybe 250 RPM, and it bent over the carbide insert tool only), and I spent an hour or two getting the one jaw to run smoothly again. When I got it the chuck was 50 years old and FAR from pristine which tells me all I need to know...that and the major runout. Since then I have replaced galled and pitted bearings and cleaned up lots of nicks and such in the bed, so maybe it will run more true with a better chuck.