Clausing 4904 just purchased. newb question

ExoFatty

Registered
Registered
Hi guys I just purchased a used clasing 4904 lathe to to basic stuff. I'm pretty new to lathes and took a course in 2006 on basic lathe work and just used all the equipment at school

my main question is. is there a better tool holder upgrade to purchase? or multiple tool holders? I want to use a parting tool and dont have the proper holder. Aldo replacing the exhishisting holder would be nice. Any variations of quality options would be greatly appreciated

the tailstock is stuck and saw how someone's keyway was broken. Well , I'm pretty new and I screwed it out as much as possible and now it wont go back in. when i was turning it was real tough. Anyome that does quality machine work repair in southern cali someone recomends?

as well as my tailstock being hard to turn, the angle cutter wheel is hard to spin as well. everything else spins good. left right and foward and back handles are good

thanks in advance!

Some pics would help to see what tool holder you have now? I think most people would recommend an Aloris type Quick Change Tool Holder. That would be my recommendation. You don't have to go name brand on Quick Change holder and Quick Change tool holders. Aloris is just the style. I am sure someone with a similar size Clausing can let you know if BXA is the right size of QCTP for you. Good luck.

that's my current setup. right now im just want to cut cylindrical spacers to get me into shape. facing and turning down the round stock is fine but i want to use the parting tool.

I will take a 2nd look at the tailstock

Attachments

• 20211029_124920.jpg
    20211029_124920.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 10
aloris looks like what i want and need. Newb question, how do I know the one that fits my machine?