Clausing Model 111 Lathe

toosix

Registered
Registered
Hi Everyone, I got a Clausing Model 111 Lathe. This is my first lathe and I am very new to machining in general. Had a few months of lathe work in school 20 something years ago. Bob G suggested I put the repairs I do on the forum. So I will post some photo's etc as I go along. I got the lathe for a good price by South African standards and it works well enough. I have turned a few spinning tops for the kids so far. Over the weekend I realized the gear train on the side of the lathe that drives the quick change gear box from the spindle had a quick fix. So I now need to rebuild most of the gear train. The guys from Clausing have been very helpful with some drawings. Obviously they can't send drawings for the parts they still have in stock but to get it here is going to cost almost as much as buying another lathe. Luckily they sent me a drawing for the 75 tooth gear and the quick change quadrant. From those drawings I know that the gears need to be 16 pitch and 14 1/2 PA. I have a local company that will be cutting the gears and quick change quadrant. So hopefully I will be able to get everything I need.

Another problem I encountered was that the clutch pusher slip ring broke, got those drawings as well which willalso be made for me.

I would like to know if mild steel EN8 will be ok to use for the slip ring and quick change quadrant?

What would be a good steel to use for the gears? I see the drawings say cast iron but I know it is very brittle so I thought of using EN8 mild steel as well.

The last problem I have with it is that there is about 39 thou runout on the three jaw chuck. It seems to be the original and I also did not get a backplate so I need to get that done as well. I did bore out the jaws and it did improve it a bit but the the front thread of the number 3 jaw is broken off. It seems as though they did try and fix it but it did not hold up.