Clock oil

jocat54

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
We have a grandfather clock that has never been cleaned or oiled. (about 12 years old-Ridgeway).

The chime and strike quit working and I messed with the chime selector lever and it is all working again but know that it needs some TLC. I know nothing about these clocks other than what I could find to read on the internet---but being the cheap guy I am I'm going to pull the movement out and clean and oil it.

My question is about oil, I read where you should only use synthetic clock? oil and others say mobil 1 5w20 is good. What do ya'll recommend? I'm really leaning toward the mobil 1 -----just because I have some on hand.

What is clock oil? I couldn't find anything on my searches for any specs on it.

Hi jocat54: I have been collecting and repairing clocks for 40+ years and found using the synthetic oil (still using the tiny bottle that I started with) is the only way to go unless you can find whale oil! What you decide to use is what you chose. If its a collectors piece don't go cheap!
The best thing is to clean the movement by taking it completely apart, taking pictures of every step. The reason being is to get the microscopic dust particles out and not washed into the bearing from the reservoir (it collects the dust and holds it that alone wears the pivot and the bearing).
Inspecting the pivot holes is important as they wear oval changing the gear centers. You will need a strong magnifying glass and a couple jewelers loups to see the bearings and reservoirs You'll see what I mean about the dust that is attracted to that point, it will look like a donut.