• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

Colchester 13x 36 Round Head Oil Change

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Big Bob

Has anyone found an easy, not too messy way to change oil with the drain hole and plug located at the bottom of the head stock and only a few inches clearance for a catch pan?

Brain Coral

Active User
I have a Colchester Master round head, and used an old cookie sheet with a bend in the wall of the sheet for the oil to exit into a container.

Brian

Fallriverbryan

Iron
Registered Member
We have a 13 inch Colchester at work. We disconnected the line from the pump to the headstock. Turned on machine and pumped it out.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Big Bob

Using pump sounds like sump? I am looking for less messy way to remove oil from headstock, where there are only a few inches clearance between the bottom of the headstock and the drip pan. The drain plug is in the bottom of the headstock.
Thoughts?
Bob

wa5cab

Downloads Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Check some of the local auto parts stores for an enclosed oil drain pan. I recently had to replace the one I bought to change oil in my 45 KW standby generator. After finding out the hard way that the old one had split a seam and was leaking.:eek:

Eddyde

Staff member
H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Get a disposable foil roasting pan and form one of the corners to get in under the plug. You can even put a piece of duck tape on the head under the plug to make a small bib.

ARKnack

I'm a little late but here is what I posted on another forum.