Considering CNC - What's Your Opinion

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I've been machining for many years both as a profession and hobby. My understanding of manual machining is high but I know little about CNC other than a software program tells the electric motors which direction and speed to turn. That's an over-simplification of what I think I know but that's why I want to learn more. So I've been thinking about getting into CNC machining (milling mostly) but don't know enough yet to pull the trigger. My budget is limited so buying a new machine with the size capabilities I'm looking for probably won't work out. I have an 2 HP Enco mill/drill that's a couple of years old but because I'm electrically and electronically "challenged" going down the retrofit road is not a good idea, at least for me. I'd like to find a "package" that I don't have to piece together with software that is relatively simple to learn. Used machines are a consideration but I don't want to buy something that's worn out or inherit someone else's problems.

I found an Ebay listing for Model Shop CNC that looks interesting. Other than losing some Z axis capacity what do you think about going this route? It appears to be complete, except for the computer and monitor. Anything else I'm missing or should consider.

Sorry for the jibber-jabber just trying to give everyone a feel for where I'm coming from.

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

Tom S.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-XY-Mill...371?pt=US_Heavy_Equipment&hash=item19de2fbad3

Seems like with that package you only get a 2 axis system (you will be cranking the Z axis yourself). I did this on my mill before I completed the quill feed, but it gets a little old, and you will not be able to do 3d contours (maybe that's not a feature you need).

You may want to check out the "Basic CNC" thread in this forum. We were able to condense a lot of info there.