Craftsman 101.21400 lathe motor setup

benven2

Registered
Registered
A generous friend recently gave me his 6 inch Craftsman 101.21400 lathe. It is mostly complete but is missing the countershaft assembly and ac motor. Instead, it has a 1/2 horse 1750 rpm DC motor with a variable speed controller. He had the motor rigged up so that it sat under the table, and supplied power directly to the spindle pulley by a single belt through the bottom of the headstock. Using that setup, and two pulley combinations, I can get spindle speeds ranging from about 150 rpm to 2500 rpm, though there isn't much torque at the lowest speeds.

My question is will this setup work for threading and other uses? Would I be better off finding a countershaft assembly and setting up the lathe as it was originally supplied with it's lower low end speed (50rpm)? I'm completely new to this and don't want to complicate the learning curve. Thanks for your help.

My gut feeling is that 150 RPM is already too fast for cutting coarser pitch threads, even without the torque limitations. I take it that the two spindle pulley steps being used are already 1the slowest two. And therefore, The other two are even faster. So your two choices are a gear head motor or find the original parts.

Note that even with the original parts, you can still mount the motor and countershaft under the bench and you can still use a variable speed DC motor.

Yes, I tried 6 pully combinations and 150 rpm is the slowest speed I could get without being able to engage the back gears.

Thanks for your help!

Why did you not engage the back gears? That is one of the reasons that they are there. And that would probably put the motor back up to being able to supply enough torque to be useful. The back-gear reduction is about 6 to 1.