Cutting Bit Relation to Work

navycwo

Registered
Registered
Newbie question: at what angle do you position the cutting bit to the work being cut? I have purchased a few books including the Amateur's Lathe and there is no listing of this. Do you put it a 5, 10 15 degree angle to the work? Does the cutting edge face in the direction of the bit travel or away?

Really good question. The short answer is you position the tool to produce the desired result.

There is no correct angle, but normally you would position the tool so the cutting edge is from perpendicular to angled away from the chuck. The most important consideration is that there is clearance for the non-cutting edges of the tool.

Try playing around with the angles and see what works the best for the particular job you are doing.

Jim that helps, I was under the impression that there was a set angle. Thanks

This is a great question, that I have struggled with a lot. As a newbie myself, I've never read any reasons why the tool should be at a specific angle, so I have always adjusted the angle so that when the tool and toolpost/tool holder get close to the chuck, nothing will CRASH into the moving chuck or jaws before I get to the end of the cut. Don't actually know if this is correct or not, but I think this is what Jim was talking about, if not, some one please correct me. Navycwo, keep the newbie questions comming, thanks, JR49

That is exactly what I did on a practice cut, didn't want it to hit the turning chuck. Thanks

The angle you are asking about is called the Lead Angle. Lathe tools, at least the HSS ones, are ground with a geometry intended for use with the shank perpendicular to the work piece. This is why roughing, finishing and facing tools all have varying shapes and angles - the lead angle of the tool changes with its intended purpose.