[4]

Dalton B4 Restoration

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Hammer

Registered
Registered
Hello all,

I was gifted a partial lathe a year or two back and I've decided to restore this before I go on and buy a mill or something bigger. As she came to me I recieved a MASSIVE .25hp induction motor, counter shaft, lathe, some change gears, various accessories in various states of neglect.

I plant to find a find a new smaller (lighter) .5hp motor, build a bracket/ tensioner for the counter shaft, clean up the old iron and steel parts, put some new paint on her, new felt, build a lathe table (for which I really hope wood will work) and maybe new brass bearings if I can find them.

I have a scraper, but I do not plan on on scraping the ways or the lathe bed. I don't have any of the camelbacks/straight edges and I've never done it before.

I've never done a "build thread" with a ton of pictures but if there is enough interest I'll post regular updates. Tips, tricks, and anyone who has worked with these lathes before, drop me a line!

Wish me luck!

brino

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Hello Hammer, welcome aboard!

It sure sounds like an interesting project.

Was the original motor 2.5hp? (maybe a typo above).

I do not know the Dalton lathes, pictures would be great.
What size is it? (swing and between centres), flat belt?, what's the spindle type/size?
You said "partial", what pieces are you missing?

As for a lathe bench, these was a thread recently dealing with some thoughts there....I'll see if I can find a link and post back if I do.

Good Luck!
-brino

Hammer

Registered
Registered
Brino,