Damn, almost a whole day

Aukai

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
My friend bought a top end drag racing operation, a Top Alcohol Dragster, but the car was built before 2015. Strange engineering does nor support the parts for the rear end any more. He needs an axle flange nut wrench for a floating axle bearing retainer, they want to sell him a new rear end complete, about 15,000.00 dollars. I'm still learning, so my wrench is no where near professional, but it will get the job done.

axle nut.jpgaxle nut wrench.jpg

Now we're talking. This is putting the hobby to seriously good use. Nice work.

A great benefit to having a machine shop is the ability to make custom tools. Anyone who has used a GM shop manual is acquainted with the last few pages in each section which list the custom tools used in that section.

I had to replace the tie rod ends on a Dodge rack and pinion rack. The drive head for screwing the tie rod end into the rack has a hex head but there is a boss above the hex which prevents using a socket. Additionaqlly, the head is recessed which prevents using an open end wrench.Tie Rod End .JPG

Here is the tool that I made to solve the problem. On the left is a crow's foot wrench which slips into the recess and engages the hex. It has two dowel pin drive dogs. The piece on the right is made from assorted pipe fittings and an old 1/2" drive socket. It slips over the tie rod to engage the crow's foot wrench.
Tie Rod Wrench .JPG

A half a day to make and a minute to use.

Made similar for the cylindrical grinder. Used a section of large diameter pipe, cut the teeth, brazed a large nut to accept a wrench or socket. Now it sits in the tool crib with it’s tag.
Pierre

Funny you should say that ..
In need of that "Manufacturer's Special Tool No. ????" held by only dealers, to take apart a Citroen BX suspension to get at the front wheel handbrake assembly.