Delta reeves drive rebuild ?s

Jeff Duncan

Registered
Registered
Hi guys, new member here so hoping I posted this in the right place. I'm a professional woodworker and as such my "hobby" has become fixing, repairing, restoring machines mostly for my woodworking, though occasional metal working equipment as well. My machinist skills are really minimal, I've played around on a small Southbend lathe enough to turn basic bushings and make some custom pieces for furniture when needed. Mostly I just read up in books or online, figure out what I need to do, and then start practicing.

So, the reason for this post is I'm in the process of rebuilding a Delta 17-600 drill press with the reeves drive. I've got the spindle broken down and am replacing all the bearings. But what I'd like to do is rebuild the reeves as well. It's not in terrible shape, but definitely showing some wear. I've done several hours of searching now with very little success on this particular reeves system, (apparently Clausing supplies replacement Delrin bushings for their version). Soooo I'm looking for advice from anyone familiar with these types of pulleys on the best way forward to replace the Delta ones. Some pertinent information.... the Delta pulleys are aluminum, (as opposed to the iron Clausing) and not sure what the stock bushing material is.... it's very hard and dark gray/black in color. My thought is to first try to carefully push the bushings out on my 20 ton press, and if that doesn't work mount the pulleys on a friends Southbend lathe and carefully bore the old bushings out. So questions....

1)Not sure what the best material for the new bushing inserts is? I can get materials like oil impregnated bronze, Acetal, and teflon impregnated nylon through MSC, though I feel nylon is a bit soft for this? Haven't looked into Delrin yet as I've not used it before.