Describing machining operations: Educate a tyro please!

mcdanlj

Registered
Registered
I am experiencing web search failure. I expect that if I knew what search terms to use, I wouldn't need to search in the first place...

As a hobbyist, I have picked things up from web pages, blogs, and videos, like many other hobbyists. I would like to be able to describe the series of operations I use to make a part in a way that a machinist, hobbyist or otherwise, could clearly understand. I expect that there is a standard form for describing a series of operations. I looked through the stickies in this forum and see glossaries (including common abbreviations) but didn't see a norm or standard for describing machining operations.

I'd like to be able to express the operations I used to make a part in a standardized and unambiguous way that others would be able to use, with a print, to make the same part I made in the same way (or to intentionally do it a different way...)

As a concrete example, here's a plan I made for myself, just to describe for myself how I wanted to make a part.
  1. 1 7/8" stock in lathe, face for Z reference station
  2. Center drill #5, drill up to 37/64 to depth 1.4"
  3. Turn station 0 - 1.500 diameter 1.600
  4. Turn station 0 - 0.39 diameter 1.02
  5. Turn 20⁰ taper from station 0.94 past station 0.39
  6. Part at station 1.200 diameter 1.4
  7. Turn station 1.200 - 1.500 diameter 1.4
  8. Saw to finish cut at 1.5"
  9. Part in dividing head, 20⁰ up, indexed to back of 1.200 station part, jaws holding 1.4 diameter shaft at back of prat
  10. Center Y on part, Zero X to top of end of part
  11. At station 0.74", mill flats 0.6 wide (X), 0.03" deep every 60⁰
  12. Center drill, drill to R for M10 at X station 0.74" every 60⁰ (in the middle of flats), tap M10
  13. Dividing head to 0⁰, zero X to end (lathe Z reference station)
  14. Mill flats every 60⁰ aligned with holes, 0.875" across flats, 0.40" on X