Dial making and lathes

Joseph Khur

Registered
Registered
First time posting on here. I'm looking to get into watch making. To start off with I'm just interested in making dials and maybe customising pre made cases. I would also like to make cases and possibly the movements in the future.

I have no experience with machining, but I have dabbled with wood work in the past and like tinkering with various things.

I'm looking to purchase my first lathe and would like to the opinions of people with experience.
After researching ive found that it sounds like a sherline lathe would be a good purchase. But I dont know which one would be the best for what I want to do and all the attachments I would need. Could you please give some recommendations? Or is there a better brand of lathe out there? I don't want to cheap out and limit myself with equipment, but I also don't want to break the bank.

I'm aware of rose engine lathes, but I can't really afford one.

Thanks in advance for any helpful responses.

I'm not familiar with watch making making tools, but you may want to check out some watch making forums, there may be valuable information there.

A Sherline would be your best all around bet. I do model building, but nothing that delicate. I also have larger machines. For the type of work you are investigating, the Sherline will do the work. Their limit is size, you won't do much larger work. There is a saying "you can do small work on a large machine but you cannot do large work on a small machine". There is, as always, a caveat that for very small work, a big machine will have parts get in the way on occasion. More serious metal workers will have a small machine and a larger machine. I have a 12" machine for what to me is big work. And a 9" machine for stuff that is smaller. I do not have a Sherline, though at one time I had a UniMat DB-200. But at the time, I was learning, and had access to serious lathes, and the UniMat did have a number of limitations.