Digital Angle Gauge Vs Space Blocks

Joe Pitz

Registered
Registered
Hello all

Question on milling angles, I have never used space blocks before.

Most digital angle gauges are accurate to .100 of a degree, that would translate to .0017"

The smallest division change on the space blocks is .001.

So it looks like with the space blocks or the digital angle gauge I could easily maintain accuracy of 1/10 of a degree.

Wanted to get some feedback from the more experienced machinists what their feeling is on using one or the other?

Thanks

Joe

I needed an angle of .7º (point seven degrees) for a project. I figured the width of my vise, (3.8") the sine of .7º (.012217) times 3.8 = .04642, placed two .020 shims and a .006 shim under the very end of a parallel and placed my work on top of the parallel. Easy Peasy as they say somewhere else in the universe. (not where I live).

Thanks Tom, I figured it would be that easy, I can use my el cheapo Texas Instruments calculator to figure everything out. I do not have space blocks or a digital angle gauge yet. So before I go off and buy either, I wanted to get a consensus.

Joe

Are 'space blocks' the same as Jo Blocks? I have a set, use them with larger angles with my sine bar. I'd trust them, not a 'patented' gizmo.

Ah come on Tom, I have been working on high tech gizmo's for 30 years Flustered

Joe

As a very broad generalization, space blocks aren't typically as accurate as "Jo" blocks. Still plenty accurate for 99.99% of home shop work, and available if chased, to a higher accuracy.

Now I know what "Space Blocks" are. Hooda thunk.