Digital control on a dividing head

dbb-the-bruce

Dave
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
This question is not "how to add a 4 axis".

What I'd like to do is attach a stepper to the dividing head I'm refurbishing and then have the capability to accurately control rotation for things like odd gears and other stuff.

I'm a software engineer in real life, and I've worked with a number of motion control systems over the course of my career. But I'm not very familiar with what is currently commercially available and affordable off the shelf.

I'm envisioning buying a stepper motor with a controller and a power supply - ie. a single axis kit. The controller would be smart enough and easy enough to configure. It would also be open enough that I can easily write my own python scripts to use with it or have existing simple utility scripts/software. Also should be OS agnostic, I'm a Linux / OSX guy.

I won't know until I've finished the dividing head refurb, but I don't think it's going to require a HUGE amount of torque to turn, and won't need a lot of holding torque either as it's driving a worm gear.

I suppose that another option would be to look for an encoder kit or even a rotary DRO - I could do the cranking by hand, but a stepper would give me enough positional accuracy and allow me to convert to full-blown CNC in the future if I so desire.

Ideally, the budget is only a few hundred bucks.

Looking for suggestions, Thanks
-Dave

I don’t quite get it. Why not buy a stepper motor and driver and use a Raspberry Pi with a stepper hat or driver board? I totally understand not wanting to build one if that’s what you mean.