DIY knee mill build

Diecutter

Registered
Registered
Since joining H-M this week some members encouraged me to post photos of my ongoing conversion of a Gorton 3-U pantograph into a knee mill. I have some machine shop experience, but none in building or operating a mill. More photos and narrative will follow as the build progresses. I don't have the posting skills yet as you can see, but I'm sure you get the idea.002.JPG002.JPG016.JPG017.JPG019.JPG008.JPG001.JPG

Interesting idea. Following. Tell us more about how you are designing the spindle. I know that can be a complex topic.
Robert

Interesting idea. Following. Tell us more about how you are designing the spindle. I know that can be a complex topic.
Robert
My designing is not too complex; collect a couple likely parts and convince them to play nice together. The spindle housing is 3" dia. S-7 die steel machined to accept four 6204RS 20x47mm deep groove bearings. The housing supports an ER-20 collet holder with a 20mm shank that is 200mm long. The ER-20 holder accepts up to 1/2" dia. cutters, and it's shaft is 20mm dia. (.7874" dia.) which should be plenty strong for an under one hp motor. Did I mention that this is going to be an economy build and that all the parts were in my scrap pile except the ER-20 holder which set me back $ 15.68 delivered from china.? So far lady luck is shining on me; The collet holder was of excellent spec. and quality, and the concentricity of the finished spindle assembly appears right on. I'm thanking my Jet 9x20 lathe for that. So under $40 cash spent so far on collet holder and collets, and I have a motor and enough pulleys to complete the drive (if I steal a step pulley from my Gingery lathe). Better get back to work so I can post more photos.

Do you have to preload the bearings to eliminate end play? How do you deal with end play?
Robert

Thanks for the pictures. What kind of cutting tool is that in the next to last photo that is mounted in a drill chuck?