[4]

Diy lathe or cheap ancient lathe

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Camnefdt

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone!

I am an absolute novice to machine work with the least amount of work time on a lathe and even less on a milling machine.

I have an opportunity to swap some of my belongings for an old britannia colchester lathe which i have managed to identify as one made in like 1920-1930.

There other option I am toying with is going the DIY route which i understand would take time and patients. But I have access to most of the materials i would need for free, and I have the knowledge and capability to do all the construction and precision work myself.

What would you guys recommend? Should I attempt making it myself or should I rather go for the old lathe and work my way with that one for now?

Charles Spencer

Active User
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
It depends. Are you really going to miss whatever you're swapping for it?

Camnefdt

Registered
Registered
Well we all like our toys haha its a road bicycle and a couple rc planes.

Also considered not the cheapest of things to replace here in south africa.

To be honest i am sort of leaning more towards the diy lathe but just worried about the accuracy.

Moderatemixed

Registered
You can alway sell the lathe later, probably for more than an “old bike” and an RC plane that you are likely to crash next week (ask me how I know that this is likely). There is a reason everyone isn’t making their own lathe. That said, use the Colchester to “rebuild” itself. You’ll get the machine time and have a project at the same time. Do the trade and don’t look back. (I got into RC heli’s. Put $5000 into setting myself up, turned it into about $800 4 years later. Machining is costly but nowhere near as costly as some hobbies.). Cheers from Canada!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Camnefdt

Registered
Registered