Do I Need A Coolant System?

Firebrick, I have zero CNC experience and am just building my first machine. I found your post most interesting as you speak from lessons learned in very large scale, heavy industrial manufacturing. I love the idea of not having to worry about dealing with the added expense, let alone the mess, hassle, cleaning, maintenance as well as the other associated problems you mention about coolant.

For those reasons, I keep thinking about your and a few others advice of simply not bothering with it. However, that advice runs contrary to the majority of sage and greatly respected recommendations that coolant is an absolute necessity, if for nothing more than chip evacuation.

While the very large equipment is in some ways similar, it is very different from comparatively minuscule home machines in speed, power and cutting tools used. Please understand that I'm asking from a total beginner's perspective, just trying to learn before I start, and with great respect. I'm trying to understand the divergent advice on if coolant is necessary. Do you think your advice to not bother is applicable to teeny-weeny little machines like that LMS 3990?

Whenever I see big machine manufacturing with giant powerful machinery, it always give me sort of a special tingle deep inside. :) It's so freak'n cool! And, if for no other obvious reasons, the achievement it represents.

I'm guessing your suggestion is derived from experience gained in large scale, really impressive and amazing manufacturing environments something like this:

An air wedge or accelerator nozzle would be nice to keep chips from building up in pockets and such.

48008 or 48002 nozzles from airtx use specially designed tips that use Venturi to draw surrounding air into the tip giving more power with much less air usage and much quieter. Make sure your put a regulator inline to adjust flow to just blow out around the tool and not send them intooblivion