Draw bar and collets

westsailpat

Registered
Registered
All this stuff I bought from McMaster Carr , the stud is a semi hardened mill tooling bolt . I don't know what grade it is but I think a little harder than grade 8 , the key here is no stretch for a solid feel . The nut is also mill tooling and has a captive rotating washer . The use of the nut is a throw back from the days I was operating large Cincinnati horizontals , you stuck the holder in the spindle gave it a little tap then you threaded in the draw bar and then did the final tighten up with the nut . For my little 6" this was over kill but then I (got) had to buy a cool little wrench . The spacer is 12L14 , In all my years as a machinist I never ran into a job that required this wonderful materiel . It really lends it's self to my machine as it is supper free machining and yet is tough enough for this application .
The brass hand wheel again was total over kill (you don't even really need one with this set up) . The collets are #2 Morse , this whole set up is really not a good way to go . For one thing the collet sticks out past the spindle nose by about 3/8 and obviously you do not have through hole capability . The one thing you have over a ER set up is less over hang . Optimum is the original Atlas set up with the spindle nose cap and draw tube . Anyhow here is is , hope you like it .
IMG_0030 by mark westi, on Flickr
IMG_0033 by mark westi, on Flickr

Came out really nice, Mark! Love it when a project is practical and comes out looking good, too.

About the only thing that turns better than 12L14 is that stainless rod they use in printers. Wish I knew what that stuff was so I could buy in larger sizes - turns like butter. You don't happen to know what it is, do you?