Drawing Dimensions in Fusion360

TORQUIN

Registered
Registered
I have read a bit here and downloaded Fusion 360 as Sketchup wasn't doing it for me, as it seems more for buildings and landscaping. Fusion 360 is definitely more along the lines of designing metal parts/machines. My problem, though, is it doesn't seem to be able to have dimensions in a 3D drawing, and as you know, this is of utmost importance for a machinist.
How do you guys use Fusion 360 and get dimensions displayed in the drawing? Do you just create two 2D views of your object in the drawing, perpendicular to each other?

Thanks,
Chris
PS, I am a beginner with any CAD so don't know what I don't know.

I haven't gotten into Fusion very deeply but SolidWorks doesn't put dimensions on solid models either. 2D drawings are made from the solid model and are the basis for any machining.

In SW, dimensions can be added as annotations to a model but they aren't linked to the actual dimensions. If a feature changes, the annotation has to be manually updated. I use such annotations primarily for presentation purposes as in a design review.

Unclear what you are asking. Are you asking about the model or a drawing of the model? The model has dimensions in sketches, which are generally 2D, and in feature definitions from those sketches. Then you can make drawings from the model but I’m not sure why you would want dimensions on an 3D view in a drawing. Generally a projection or section would contain dimensions.

I don't know the difference between the "model" and the "drawing of the model". They are the same thing to me, as I know little about what I can do in this app now. I am trying to model the dimensions I think I want, and see if those numbers jive with the real world, and modify as necessary if they don't work.