Drill bits - split point? chisel point? 118-degree? 135-degree? Coatings? Arrgghh!!

cazclocker

Purveyor of cheese.
Registered
I'm getting set to purchase two sets of drill bits - fractional (1/16" to 1/2" in 64ths) and number (#1 to #60). I'd like to acquire some higher-quality sets, so I'm thinking Cleveland or Hertel. I guess I'll get them from MSC, I have an account there - but I've ordered from McMaster-Carr and Enco before so who knows. I'm just a home hobbyist, so I want to get my money's worth - I can't afford to own several sets.

I think I'm fairly clear on point angles (135-degrees will "walk" less on hard surfaces), and I'm definitely looking for screw-machine length instead of the jobbers-length. But I'm confused about the point styles that are out there...split point, chisel point. There are probably others that I don't know about.

I drill a fair amount of wood, but I drill metals too. Brass, steel & aluminum. I use an inexpensive Delta tabletop drill press, but it's in great shape and seems to do a good job.

Can someone explain the differences in the tip geometries out there with drill bits? Maybe there's a good primer I should purchase and read.

Thanks in advance,
Doug

Are you planning on having to resharpen drills when needed, if so can you do split points? Here's some good reading on the subject.
http://www.icscuttingtools.com/the-champ/drill_point_geometry.pdf

I personally think that coatings for home shop use is wasted. I've been using the same drill sets for 40 years. Most of the drills are original to the sets. Choose your speeds correctly for the material and good quality bits will last a lifetime.

Are you planning on having to resharpen drills when needed, if so can you do split points? Here's some good reading on the subject.
http://www.icscuttingtools.com/the-champ/drill_point_geometry.pdf