Drilling With A Mini Lathe

Tool Chatter

Registered
Registered
I have a very newbie question about drilling on a mini lathe. I have a Wen 3455, that I think is the same thing as a SEIG 7 x 12 mini lathe. For my first use and project, I need to make some axle spacers for a rear wheel of a motorcycle. The bore of the axle spacers will need to be 25.00mm ID. So I'm wondering if I'm better to buy a reduced shank 25.00mm drill bit, or a 25.00mm drill bit with a morse taper to fit the tail stock? I'm new to all of this, so I'm assuming that a morse taper is a universal size? I guess my thoughts are the drill bit would be straighter mounted in the tail stock, than if mounted in a chuck on the tail stock.

The material I'll drill will be 6061 aluminum round bar. Am I going in the right direction using a drill bit with the morse taper?

Thanks for any help, and I look forward to learning here.

In any case it would be better to drill the hole undersize and bore to the finished diameter. Drilling with MT drills in the tailstock risks spinning the shank of the drill in the tailstock taper, causing galling/damage to the taper, resulting in a poor fit for the center and inaccuracies when turning diameters using the tailstock center. This is generic info/comment, it applies to all lathes without a tang slot in the tailstock quill, which very few lathes possess.

I would use a boring bar. You will have to drill a clearance hole first.

This. 25 mm is slightly bigger than 1" ID - biig hole to drill. You are far better off boring it, and in aluminum it will be fast.

That makes very good sense, to not risk damaging the tailstock, that hadn't occurred to me at all. As far as drilling a smaller initial hole through the aluminum, what would be a recommended percent of the finished size? Something like 80% to 90% of the finished 25.00mm?