DRO 1/2 Function not accurate

Oh man, that sucks! Wow, how does something like even happen? At least you know you are not crazy. :) That would have confused the heck out of me too.

I'm out of ideas. I have no personal experience with mag scales except that I know you can buy just the magnetic tape. Not sure if DRO Pros sells just the tape. Hopefully you can buy just the scale part instead of the whole thing with the encoder. Maybe Mark @mksj has some ideas.

I just looked at your pics again now I'm at the PC instead of my phone. Now I see that it was the Y axis you are having trouble with.

Ok, something did come to mind. Are those scratches or burrs & is it on bare metal? I'm not sure where the actual tape is. If it is a burr (high spots) I'm wondering if it damaged the encoder? If it didn't do any damage to the encoder & the burrs are just on bare metal, I wonder if stoning the high spots out will work? Like maybe the encoder is getting pushed out of alignment when passing over it? Well you did say it works fine in other areas so I guess the encoder is ok?

I guess the encoder is the device that slides along the strip?
As you can see, I'm no authority on this subject.
It seems to work along the rest of it. I noticed one section, I was watching the dial indicator and the DRO and all of a sudden the DRO displayed some strange data. That's when I went in for a closer look.

Yes, the encoder is the part that moves along the scale with the cable attached to it. I usually call it a read head but encoder is the proper name.

Can you feel high spot where those scratches are? And does movement feel funny when the read head slides over that area?

Ok just to be clear what I was referring to is the area circled in red. Are those high spots or is that just oil or something? The dings or whatever circled in blue don't seem to affect anything but might as well check.

20200530_175404.jpg