[4]

DRO for BP Which One? 2Axis

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Kroll

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Morning guys I know this subject has been beaten to death but I need to ask.I'm not a pro,not every day user,but just a plain jane just starting out beginner doing this for fun kinda guy.I have little money in the kitty so while I have my mill apart I want to research and purchase a DRO.Guys I would love to purchase a top of the line DRO if my pockets were deep but they are not,like the song says"If devil could dance in empty pockets he have a ball in mine w/10 piece band etc"You get the point ,so my budget is around 500.00 mark but could go up little more maybe to 600. I have been looking at DRO pros and would love to get the EL400 with mag scales but I just can't drop that kind of money so I am looking at their cheaper models with glass scales w/3yr warranty for 600.00 again thats at top of my budget.Some guys here have purchase DRO's off ebay for as cheap as 300.00.Guys if your budget was very limited what did you go with,any regrets,are you happy and if possible could you point me to what you purchase?With my budget,I just don't want to make a mistake cause there's no going back.If you have some picks or links please post.
Guys my mill is a BP series#1 2hp w/42" table I believe is from the early 70's

Last edited:

Technical Ted

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
You can get a TPACtools 2 axis for $365 free shipping. The Z axis is by far the most difficult to install on a Bridgeport. I don't know what type of mill you have. I have actually used my 3 axis (with Z) more than I had thought though and am glad I got that additional axis.

If fact, I'm planning on picking up a simple one for my quill as well. TPACtools has one of these for $39. If I had know when I bought my DRO, I would have added one of these to the order as well for the free shipping.