Dumore AC/DC motor?

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
832
This motor seems to say it can be run from either 115V AC or a DC power source. Is that a thing?

If it is then it's variable speed maybe?

Thanks,

John
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
615
they are called universal motors if i'm not mistaken
i have an old skill saw from WW2 that my grandfather passed down to me
she doesn't see much service anymore, but it does have an ac and dc rating
 

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
832
Nice, I just was reading about them. It would be nice to have speed control on the tool grinder:)
 

Flyinfool

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
319
As mentioned the AC/DC motors are called universal motors. Universal motors have carbon brushes and both the field and the armature are wound with wire. Most (Not all) universal motors will be less efficient when running on DC and will wear out carbon brushes much faster. This reduced efficiency means less power available to do work and/or more heat generated for the same load.

You can still vary the speed whether it is running on AC or DC. Harbor Freight sells an inexpensive speed control that will let you run on AC and have speed control of a universal motor. They call it a Router Speed Control, most routers are universal motors.
 

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,998
They made everything so robust back in those days.
I can see where the option of AC or DC would be beneficial in certain industrial/international applications.
 

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
832
Yes, pretty standard brushes. I had to take it apart to attach new electric leads and for such a little guy it is very stout.

I'll try one of the HF variable speed units, no sense of sourcing a DC supply if AC will work.

Thanks,

John
 

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
832
I had an old lamp dimmer extension cord laying around, it works great.
 

Superburban

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
1,042
Remember, the voltage requirement is still the same, for AC or DC. 110-120 volts DC is not that common. There us to be adds in magazines like popular science, that had a box you could wire into your cars alternator, to produce 110 DC (had to get the engine rpms right). It would run drills, and other tools with brushes. I have one somewhere, after reading all the instructions, I decided an inverter was a better option.
 
Top