[4]

Edge finder question.

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

John TV

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
So just wondering about my technique of using a edge finder. I am new to the milling world and used an edge finder for the first time the other day. I have watched enough YouTube to see it often but it was not as "clear" to me where the edge was as it seemed watching other people. That said, my Rpn was quite slow,300 to 400 or so. Did not have the time to play with rpm speed. Does the edge finder work better with higher rpm? Other techniques you might suggest?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

S

SCLead

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!
I typically run them at ~1,000rpm. I've run some a fair bit higher (accidentally...) without issue, but I've also seen them come apart if run too fast.

Some people like to "flick" the tip to throw it farther out of alignment before creeping up on an edge. I don't really think it's necessary, but up to individual preference. If it's visibly far out of alignment, you can watch it change as you close in on your edge, where if it's relatively well aligned (running concentric) to start, you might come in to your edge too fast and be surprised when it "breaks." Play with both and see what you prefer would be my advice.

Good lighting (as everything else in the shop) is pretty critical as well. I've run some machines where you really have to focus to see it jump over because of awkward lighting. If you've got a lamp on the machine, having it somewhat backlit seems to work well for me.

BaronJ

Registered
Hi John, Guys,

There are many ways to find the edge of ones workpiece. The old fag paper trick is one, small ball race on a mandrel is another, or you could used a rotating laser beam. This last one is actually very useful for finding the center of a hole or rod. I use mine on both the mill and the lathe.