Electric only power drawbar?

bshughe

Registered
Registered
Hi guys I'm a newbie (still in school, I graduate in may) I have been researching mills and accessories for a while so I can get the right one for me for my shop.

Any ways I am doubly screwed not only am I vertically challenged but I was hurt in a car accident and I have trouble with steps and reaching above my shoulders so the draw-bar causes me issues when changing tools. Which causes me to some times use what ever tool is in the collet rather than the right tool. So I have been looking at power draw-bar setups I'm planning on a variable speed mill so I don't have to bother with belts to change the speed but I want a vertical knee mill like a 9X49.

I don't have a shop air compressor and I really didn't want one because of the space and noise.

All of the power draw-bar setups I have found are air powered, are there any all electric models?

Anybody got a suggestion or a DIY design?

Thanks guys

I don't know of a commercial electric power drawbar, but the way some are built, you could take a 12 volt 1/2" impact wrench instead of the 3/8" butterfly impact they all seem to use. It would be a good project, and I imagine could be done. You'd have to come up with a 12 VDC power supply heavy enough to run it, but that wouldn't be too hard. A remote pendant control, and presto, a remote power drawbar!

Highpower you weren't kidding about sticker shock. That is a bit rich especially when that is a 1/4 of the price of some of mills I have looked at.

I like the Er collet chucks though, but do the hold as securely and accurately as just using the R8 collets?

Thanks guys I may have to attack one of those electric impact wrenches and see what I can come up with. I'd rather spend the 900 bones on tooling and steel if I can rig something else up.

Thanks the responses guys.

I like the Er collet chucks though, but do the hold as securely and accurately as just using the R8 collets?