EMCO V13 VFD ISSUE.

Tom Mayo

Registered
Registered
I just got an EMCO V13 recently. Just love it. Got rid of my trusty 10" Clausing with much regret. It was all I really needed......but!!!
So the guy I got up from had it hooked up to a static phase converter. I really dont like the sound it makes when you plug it in or turn it on and after some research it seemed that a VFD was the proper solution for a smoother running lathe. (I am a knifemaker and am pretty much self taught on running these machines).
I call my friend and he told me to get a KBAC-29 (Adjustable Frequency Drive rated for 3 hp). Had my son (who is an electrical contractor and works big jobs on military bases all the time-knows a lot about electricity) come over and hook it up.........but then nothing. It comes on, as far as we could tell by the lights and the sounds, but as soon as I hit the go lever on the carriage something inside the electrical box disconnects. We tried and tried and so now I am here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
3HP KBAC-29 NEMA4X VFD 230VAC 3PH INPUT 9528
ON/OFF Line Switch/RFI AC Filter Options
From the website of the place I bought it from.

Without being familiar with the EMCO V13, it would be helpful if you posted some additional information.
"It comes on", does that mean the lathe motor comes on, or just the VFD?
Post a picture of the motor dataplate.
Post a picture of the electrical box guts, and the VFD wiring
Is the VFD wired directly to power on the line side and directly to the motor on the output? Or are some additional controls/circuits before (or worse yet, after) the VFD? Nothing should be wired between the motor and VFD except perhaps a noise filter intended for use between a VFD and motor.
What low voltage control circuits are wired to the VFD? I would expect start and stop at a bare minimum, typically provisions for forward and reverse and a poteniometer for speed control