Face milling tooling for a horizontal mill

nnam

Registered
Registered
For my Precision 500 Horizontal Mill, as a beginner, I want to get some tool holders for horizontal face mill, by which, I meant to remove the NMTB #40 arbor, and put a tool holder on it.

I am thinking of getting a NMTB 40 to ER32 or ER40 (or even 20) and a set of ER collets.
I also saw some NMTB adapter with a fixed size hole and fixed size rod/bolt for holding shell mill cutter.

It's a hobby, so I don't want to spend too much. Chinese made is fine as long as the precision is good enough (that's a problem I heard).

So what would you advice me to do?

Another question is about the arbor, it's 7/8" size. I have a few cutters that size, but I have a lot of 1" size cutters. I am thinking of buying a 7/8" to 1" adapter for that. I also saw 1 cutter has an adapter that looks like a right that does just that. Would you recommend that or just buy/make 1" arbor? I am not confident enough that I can make a good arbor yet, so any short cut would be good. I also would like to get things running for now, not having a big project. Once I am good at things, then I will look into making the arbors. I am also thinking of using one of those tool holders that takes 1" hole (or open it up to 1"), then make a 1" round rod with a slot, cut a left hand thread at the end and I got an arbor. Would that work? Maybe I need to heat treat the rod?

Your arbor should be hardened and ground to be accurate, otherwise cutters will be cutting on one or two teeth, the others' not reaching the work. (arbor won't be concentric.)

Last edited: