Famup Unimilla?

Surveywaters

Registered
Registered
I'm looking at a Famup Unimilla vertical mill. This would be my first full size mill, I'm coming from a mill drill and am a self taught hobbyist. I have no first hand familiarity with knee mills and don't know if this is similar to other manufacturers. Below is the listing and I can't find any info on line about the brand. Any information or thoughts would be great. My concern would be that I buy this and then need a part for it and am never able to find it.

https://augusta.craigslist.org/bfs/d/milling-machine-mill/6489258850.html

Famup(Famp) is made in Italy I believe. It looks like a variable speed unit. If it has dials, they would be metric.
What kind of collets does it take? It looks like a pretty substantial mill and has X power feed, possibly Y also. If the
variable speed part is good, it might be a good deal. That's just my take on the machine looking at the photos for
what that is worth. If the collets are out of the ordinary, the tooling would get expensive.....

I'm waiting on more information from the seller. It is a 2hp variable speed.one unique thing is that the table tilts 45deg in both axis, I've not seen that before. As for the metric dials, that's not an issue as I'll be putting a dro on. My concern is that I can't find any thing on the company other than that Emco acquired them in 2005. I don't know if I'll be able to find parts, let alone a manual.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Interesting machine, I've never heard/seen it before.
Unusual to have the A-frame between the knee and the base, usually see those on horizontal mills between the knee and the over-arm.
Neat too that not only does the table rotate , but the knee rotates too.

There is some company and machine info here: http://www.lathes.co.uk/famup/
-brino

....also the motor plate says 440/480V, 3-phase alright with you? Are you changing the motors; primary and feed (and pump?)?