Farm Boy: Real engine vs SolidWorks render

H-M experienced a site wide outage on January 23. To the best of our knowledge, the site has been restored up to January 1, 2020. Common problems are going to be missing posts, reverted membership levels and other time related problems that will potentially have been lost between January 1-23.

Please click on this notice to be taken to the Site Support Forum so you can learn more about what happened, what is being done and post a support request so we can help you get your issue resolved.

jgedde

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
787
Lasy year I built JE Howell's Farm Boy engine. Since I was teaching myself Alibre, I figured Mr Howell's blueprints would make a good tutorial and help me understand how the engine all goes together.

Now, I'm teaching myself SolidWorks. Again, the Farm Boy came into play. I exported the Alibre design as SolidWorks, opened it up, assigned the surface finishes and appearances, and kicked off a render. Here's what I got:

Farm Boy Rendered.JPG

I never got around to painting the real engine red, or making the name plates on the water hopper, but here's the real engine that I built. As you can see, I changed the fuel tank design since I made the 3D model:

DSC00293.JPG

Cheers,
John

Farm Boy Rendered.JPG DSC00293.JPG
 

Inflight

Active User
Registered
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
266
John,

Very nice job with the render!

I just took the plunge into AutoCAD as a progression from SketchUp and am modeling a Philip Duclos hit 'n miss engine from one of the Village Press books.

How many SolidWorks hours do you have those engine drawings?



Matt
 

jgedde

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
787
John,

Very nice job with the render!

I just took the plunge into AutoCAD as a progression from SketchUp and am modeling a Philip Duclos hit 'n miss engine from one of the Village Press books.

How many SolidWorks hours do you have those engine drawings?



Matt
I had about a months time part time making the model in Alibre. I could do it much faster now that I know the program.

Importing into solidworks and assigning materials and finishes for rendering only took about 2 hours.

John
 

Rbeckett

Gold
Rest In Peace
Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
3,095
Looks great to me with or without paint. I am curious though, did any parts like the flywheels come from casting or did it all come out of chunks of metal in the mill and lathe? Whichever way it still looks great to me.

Bob
 

Don B

Active User
Registered
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
607
Fantastic job, on both the engine and the CAD work...! Really nice...:))
 

jgedde

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
787
Looks great to me with or without paint. I am curious though, did any parts like the flywheels come from casting or did it all come out of chunks of metal in the mill and lathe? Whichever way it still looks great to me.

Bob
Bob, Thanks!

No castings anywhere. It's all bar stock. The flywheels were done on the lathe and the spokes wire done on a mill using a rotary table.

John
 

Sandia

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
515
Nice looking engine. I am interested in these old engines and recently ordered the Red Wing engine castings and will start on it soon. Still a little hot down here and my shop is not air conditioned. Have never built one yet and this will be an experience I'm sure.

Thanks
 

wagnmkr

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 7, 2013
Messages
29
Lovely job, both on the render and the engine. I must dig my plans out and have a go.

Tom
 

RJSakowski

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
4,613
Really pretty John.

I miss the RealView rendering. I couldn't justify the additional expense of the SolidWorks Professional over the Standard version when I bought my personal seat. I miss the pretty pictures.:apologize:

Some pretty machining too!

Bob
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top